Options

No more formals! ?

WeiselWeisel Registered Users Posts: 235 Major grins
edited April 27, 2010 in Weddings
So......almost all of us hate formals, right? OR at least, we break out in boredom hives when we shoot them. OR maybe you like them? Either way, here's my question.

Can we start getting away from formals altogether? At least cutting way back on them, and using that precious time for making photos that people actually like? Maybe replace them with informal formals. You know, the more relaxed group shots. Why do we have to do the firing squad thing? Tradition mainly. Almost all my clients hate posed photos, yet they still expect formals, just because.

Would it be a death wish for me to begin making myself into the wedding photographer who doesn't do firing squad formals? "Line up everybody, and stand in positions you normally never would" Ack!

To formal or not to formal? I guess it's essential? I'm still a bit new to this, but I'm doing well so far, and my brides are always stoked about their photos. HAs anyone ever tried getting away from formals, to a large degree?
Canon 5D MK IV | 24-70 2.8L USM | 50mm F1.4 USM | 70-200mm F2.8L | AB 800 light | 430EXII speedlight (x2) | Lowel iLight | Cybersync remotes | bag of trail mix |
My Weddings WebsiteBlog

Comments

• Options
    sweet carolinesweet caroline Registered Users Posts: 1,589 Major grins
    edited April 19, 2010
    I didn't do formals the last two weddings! The results were great. But I don't do a lot of weddings, only about a dozen over 10 years (although this year will be at least 3, so maybe I'm becoming a wedding photog). I know of some award winning photographers who just don't do formals. Ever. Their shooting style is photojournalistic. That's how they advertise themselves. That's what they deliver, although with some artistic editing. To me, the formals are the most exhausting part of the wedding.

Caroline
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins