Options

Weddings and Nikon telephotos?

dahn8dahn8 Registered Users Posts: 73 Big grins
edited April 30, 2010 in Weddings
Hi! I'm looking for advice on decent telephoto lenses that won't break the bank. I'm on a reallly tight budget and think at this time $500 would be around my max budget. I've been asked to help take some photos at a friend's wedding. I'm not a professional but I do have a good amount of photography education and experience (enough to teach some classes and place in several non-online photo contests).

Do you guys have some recommendations for telephotos? I think I've narrowed it down to the following lens on a D700:

Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 (old version, no VR)
Nikon 70-210 f/4
Nikon 70-210 f/4-5.6 AFD
Nikon 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G (no VR)

I'm leaning toward the 80-200 because it's faster but I'm wondering since the D700 works great at high ISOs if the other lens would be strong alternatives as well.

Any thoughts (or other lens recs)?

Thanks! (please be nice...I'm new here and this is my first post outside of the flea market :) )

Comments

• Options
    EOS_JDEOS_JD Registered Users Posts: 68 Big grins
    edited April 27, 2010
    dahn8 wrote:
    Hi! I'm looking for advice on decent telephoto lenses that won't break the bank. I'm on a reallly tight budget and think at this time $500 would be around my max budget. I've been asked to help take some photos at a friend's wedding. I'm not a professional but I do have a good amount of photography education and experience (enough to teach some classes and place in several non-online photo contests).

Do you guys have some recommendations for telephotos? I think I've narrowed it down to the following lens on a D700:

Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 (old version, no VR)
    Nikon 70-210 f/4
    Nikon 70-210 f/4-5.6 AFD
    Nikon 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G (no VR)

I'm leaning toward the 80-200 because it's faster but I'm wondering since the D700 works great at high ISOs if the other lens would be strong alternatives as well.