Options

How Much Should I Charge???

NoinNoin Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited May 21, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
I'm a beginner photographer and I just got my first job. I work at a Franchise Restaurant (Denny's) and my Employer asked me if I would take a photo of a new food item that they are going to start selling on Memorial Day. She said she is going to blow it up and put it up front for all the customers to see. She told me she would pay me for it. She owns two other Denny's as well but she didn't say if she wanted it for all 3 or just the one I work at. So I have absolutely no idea how much I should charge her for it. :dunno I'm a complete Newbie at this so any advice would be much appreciated. I'm suppose to be taking the pic sometime next week. Thank you in advance for any advice you give me.

Comments

• Options
    GlortGlort Registered Users Posts: 1,015 Major grins
    edited May 21, 2010
    $233.94 + tax
  • Options
    chrisjohnsonchrisjohnson Registered Users Posts: 771 Major grins
    edited May 21, 2010
    I would be tempted to pitch this so it could become a regular promotion. Then you could be doing a photo every week for all 3 restaurants.

You should take ownership of the project. Figure out how many prints per restaurant, what size, and how to display. Maybe she also wants a flyer or a print ad - driving more customers. Talk the concept through with her asap. Take care of the whole deal.

Make sure you keep copyright and take care of the production - don't give her the digital master.

You set the price according to what she thinks is reasonable - you are shooting for repeat business. Ask her! You don't have to agree.