Options

HELP!! Student about to purchase first DSLR

jdm2lpmjdm2lpm Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited June 2, 2010 in Cameras
Hello everyone,

I am a new student with the New York Institute of photography, and I am about to purchase my first DSLR. My budget is unfortuantelly around $600.00, and I am trying to figure out which camera kit to purchase. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

This is what I have found so far

1.) $629.00 - New Nikon D5000 body + 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Lens

2.) $549.99 - Refurb Olympus E-620 + 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 + ED 40-150mm F4.0-5.6 Zuiko

3.) $599.99 - Refurb Canon EOS Rebel T1i EF-S Body +18-55mm Lens
Josh D. McKinney
Gear: Canon EOS 40D, Canon 28-135 IS USM

*Image edits + comments and critiques are greatly appreciated*

Comments

• Options
    aquaticvideographeraquaticvideographer Registered Users Posts: 278 Major grins
    edited May 31, 2010
    All of the kits you mention have nice upper entry-level crop-body dSLRs, and basic lenses. dpreview compares them directly here. All three companies make great cameras and lenses. One difference between them is that the Olympus has in-body image stabilization (IS, or VR as Nikon calls it), whereas the Canon and Nikon both have that feature in some of their lenses (for example, the Nikon lens you list).

There are other differences which the dpreview review goes over more in-depth.

One thing to keep in mind when deciding on a new dSLR system is the investment you may already have in existing, compatible lenses. Many dSLR systems will work with legacy lenses from film SLRs. For example, if you already have Canon EOS system lenses for a film EOS, you can probably use them on a new T1i. Usually, the autofocus will work, although it will probably be slower than the lenses you would buy new today for the T1i. Also, legacy lenses will function with a longer effective focal length on a crop body like the T1i.