Options

Need help choosing a camera for merchandise photography

stereoneedsstereoneeds Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited June 6, 2010 in Cameras
ill start by saying i am a SUPER noob when it comes to photography. i am an ebay seller and put up a few hundred items a month. im sure i cannot give a link to my ebay store, but my seller id is the same as my id here. for 10 years i have been taking pictures of products on a sheet with my old canon sd400 pocket camera, and im thinking its time to get serious about this now. i purchased a 40" white photo cube and 2 light stands with reflective umbrellas to put on each side of the cube. when it comes to choosing a camera and lens though i am lost. i have a budget of about $1000, and really only need one lens. i will be shooting car stereo products- head units, speakers, amplifiers, and subwoofers. any help is greatly appreciated! thank you.

Comments

• Options
    Robin CasadyRobin Casady Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
    edited June 6, 2010
    You don't need much in the way of megapixels for ebay. What you want is good color, and a good lens. I'm not sure which body would be best for you, but the lens I'd choose would be the AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D. It sells for $470 new. There is a newer AF-S version of this lens with slightly faster autofocus, but you don't need that for merchandise.

Go to my web site, and look at my sections for shift knobs and telescope parts. Most of those images were shot with a D2x and 60mm Micro. This lens is great for portraits on a DX camera, and also great for shooting details, like a serial number plate, or other small item. It is actually a great all-around lens. Mine is sharper than most of my other lenses, even at infinity focus.

I'm selling my D2x because I've bought a D700, but my asking price puts it and a lens out of your budget. Otherwise, it would be a great camera for you.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,871 moderator