Options

Has this been done before???

NoelAlexanderPhotosNoelAlexanderPhotos Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
edited June 11, 2010 in Weddings
I just got started with photography about a year ago. I really want to shoot a wedding or two before the summer is out to add to my portfolio. However, since I am new to the industry like many of us starting out I'm having difficulty finding clients.

What I would like to do, and call me crazy if you think this is crazy, is shoot the wedding for free. Or find a wedding photographer in my area and work as the second shooter free of charge. The importance to me (and this is my thinking) is to 1. get the experience and 2. get some really great shots.

Any thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    edited June 10, 2010
    In terms of experience all I know is what I have read in books and have studied online. No actual field experience in terms of shooting a wedding.
  • Options
    tenoverthenosetenoverthenose Registered Users Posts: 815 Major grins
    edited June 10, 2010
    If you have no field experience, I personally wouldn't take you out on a shoot. I would be afraid that you would get in the way and slow me down at a wedding. I would say that you need to figure out what you want your shots to look like, then hire models and makeup on your dime to build a wedding portfolio. Then, once you have a portfolio you approach the photographers that you want to work with and explain your situation. I am sure that if your works is good and you have your head on your shoulders you will be able to pull it off.

OR

Hop on craigslist and offer to shoot a wedding for free for clients that don't care about the photos. They don't care about them unless you happen to screw them up that is.
  • Options
    Moogle PepperMoogle Pepper Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited June 10, 2010
    Literally everything under the sun has been done. Especially in regards to photography.