Options

Tripod Necessary?

BunderfeldBunderfeld Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited June 21, 2010 in Accessories
Hi everyone, these are very exciting times for me, as 3 people have responded to my request for a "Photography Buddy" and now I'm trying to "gear up" in anticipation of being able to go out and shoot.

I have been reading about the necessity of a Tripod, what different sort of Tripods there are, construction materials, heads, legs and all that stuff. But now I have a question, that on the surface seems a pretty simple answer, but I want to be certain that I'm not spending money on anything I really don't need.

I know everyone will say a Tripod is a necessity, and I want to be sure that's still the same answer for the situation I'm in. I'm a hobbyist, and have only been doing this hobby for a year now; I have a NIKON D5000 with 18-55mm and 55-200mm lenses (both have auto-focus and anti-jitter and of course are NIKOR). I took up Photography as a Hobby because I'm disabled with Chronic Pain through my Back, Neck and Shoulders; the only way I survive this pain is to take high doses of Pain Meds (the controlled substance kind). I'm not looking to make this a Profession or even get rich off this, I'm wanting to shoot because I enjoy the creativity aspect of Photography. Do I want to do the best I can? That's a given with me, I'm a perfectionist, but at the same time, being a perfectionist can be a draw back when it comes to thinking you need all the toys to be able to enjoy your Hobby.