Options

YN 460 462 and manual flash

Bend The LightBend The Light Registered Users Posts: 1,887 Major grins
edited July 8, 2010 in Accessories
Forgive what might be a dumb question, but...

I have a conon 400d. I am just looking now at the YN460 and YN462 on eBay and there's only a couple of quid difference. I need a flash, but I am basically broke, so I was going to buy one of these...but, I read that I wouldn't be able to use these TTL. I'm not sure what this means, and I am not sure how to use the flash, either on the hotshoe, or off camera. I believe these flashes will fire with the camera flash triggering them, but then I read about "manual" flash. What is this?

If the flash were put on the hotshoe, would I be able to control it from camera (400d), or not? I am a novice with flash, only having the built in flash up to now.

I'd appreciate some idea of how i would use a flash like this before I buy...I look forward to hearing your expert advice!

Thanks

Craig

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,871 moderator
    edited July 2, 2010
    The Yongnuo YNxxx flashes are awfully cheaply made and I cannot recommend them. I read about too many people who get a DOA from them or failure shortly after use.

If you're really that strapped for cash I recommend trying to find an older Sunpak 383 Super flash or a new Vivitar 285HV flash. Both are "Auto" and manual flashes with the Sunpak having a tilt "and" swivel head and the Vivitar having a zoom head.

The LumoPro LP160 looks encouraging but it's still pretty new so some extra risk.

For full Canon E-TTL II flash automation the least I recommend is the Sigma EF 530 DG Super flash. I have 2 of these units and 2 of the earlier model and they are proving to be very reliable units at a very reasonable cost. I suggest that they are worth the little extra over the Sigma "ST" version with much more usability and features.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options