Options

Recommendations for Yosemite Trip

BrendanBrendan Registered Users Posts: 223 Major grins
I'm planning to take a trip to Yosemite in the first week of September (mid-week to try to avoid most of the Labor Day crowds as much as I can). I've been once before, but I was about 8 years old, so I remember basically nothing. :D

My plan is to spend the days just resting and hiking around to scenic locations and trying to get some good photographs during the dusk hours. I don't need to cover a lot of ground, but would like to at least hike Half Dome, as I've never done it before.

I've love some recommendations for hikes to do, things to see, good photographic spots, and where to stay (everything, basically). It seems like the available campgrounds are Hogdon Meadow, Tuolumne Meadows, and Wawona.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts. :D

--Brendan

Comments

• Options
    craig_dcraig_d Registered Users Posts: 911 Major grins
    edited July 14, 2010
    I was in Yosemite for a photography workshop in May. I could suggest some fairly obvious things to see (El Capitan, various waterfalls, etc.) but perhaps the simplest thing would be for you to glance through my Yosemite galleries and ask me about anything that you're curious about:

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

If the rainbow over Yosemite Valley before sunset (while the sunlight is still on the floor of the valley) is still as nice now as it was in May, then you really must see that:

931894314_q6kXt-L.jpg
    http://craigd.smugmug.com

Got bored with digital and went back to film.
  • Options
    BrendanBrendan Registered Users Posts: 223 Major grins
    edited July 14, 2010
    Thanks Craig. Where were you when taking the photo you posted above? I gather that's "Tunnel View", but is that the name of a hike, a road, or..?

Also, where were you for this view of Half Dome?