Chiricahua Nat'l Monument, So. AZ

shawncshawnc Registered Users Posts: 674 Major grins
Has anyone gone to the Chiricahua Nat Mon? I am looking to pay a spontanious visit there in a few short weeks. I would love to have the time to do some scouting for photographic locations, but this will most likely be a one weekend turn-around which means only one evening to shoot and maybe an AM shoot.
Does anyone have any recomended sites to shoot from? preferably evening light. Thanks in advance for any imput you may have.

Shawn Carden

Comments

• dave6253dave6253 Registered Users Posts: 229 Major grins
    edited June 30, 2010
    I've been to the Chiricahuas several times. The area is unlike anything else in AZ. I am an amatuer photographer and don't have any great images from there. The National Monument area is not all that large. There are long hikes with nice rock formations but they all start looking the same pretty soon. I tried shooting a couple sunsets at Massai Point, but never had great light. If you have the time try to make it over to the Eastern Chiricahuas and the Cave Creek Recreation Area. Pinery Canyon Road should be passable with almost any vehicle. I think that area is the most stunning, especially in autumn with the golden sycamore leaves. There is much more color in the rocks on the east side. I would think the east side would have better light in the morning though.

Here is my recent gallery from a family camping/hiking trip to the Chiricahuas. The east side was closed due to a fire, so no photos from there. http://dave6253.smugmug.com/Family/2010-Memorial-Day-Trip/12442995_7Tdud#890858783_WRd48

If you have questions about the area let me know, but I'm not the best source of information regarding good photo spots.
    edited June 30, 2010
    BTW, I love your North Rim Gallery.thumb.gif
  • shawncshawnc Registered Users Posts: 674 Major grins
    edited July 1, 2010
    dave6253 wrote: »
    BTW, I love your North Rim Gallery.thumb.gif