Options

Learning theory and technique

PeterGarPeterGar Registered Users Posts: 294 Major grins
edited August 5, 2005 in Technique
So I've been shooting digital for several years now. From point and shoot to SLR. Although I vaguely understand photographic theory, I really need to learn and practice theory and technique more than I already do. I know if I learned more and practiced what I know, my photography would improve significantly.

I'd like to study basic, intermediate, and advanced photography in some type of guided and structured method. The problem is I have no time for classroom study because I work full time and also go to college full time at nights and on weekends. Because I don't need the units/credits in the subject area, I can't afford to take the time from my degree studies to take photography classes. And because of scheduling conflicts with my college classes, I can't take community extension classes right now. Maybe I can after I graduate, but that's still a few years away.

So I'm looking for suggestions on how I can study photographic theory and technique, from basic, to intermediate, to advanced, in my free time. I need a self-paced, affordable, structured, guided method.

Is there a specific book? A website? A tutor?

I bought a book titled "Teach Yourself Photography" by Lee Frost that I think is a great book. It however lacks the structure I'd like. I'd like something with lesson plans and exercises in practicing each lesson. In addition to my Canon 300D, I have a manual Nikon FE 35mm camera which I'd like to learn to use. I lack the confidence to shoot film, so learning to shoot film, is something I'd like to do.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    HiggmeisterHiggmeister Registered Users Posts: 909 Major grins
    edited August 5, 2005
    Hi Peter,