Options

How to deal with bright light behind your subject?

MileHighAkoMileHighAko Registered Users Posts: 413 Major grins
edited September 16, 2010 in Technique
Rookie question here: what is the best way to deal with bright light behind your subject? Yesterday I was shooting my daughter's gymnastics (D5000 50mm f/1.8), and on one of the apparatus there was a window directly behind with bright light coming in.

What is the best way to deal with that situation so that the bright light behind my subject doesn't take over the photo?

Comments

• Options
    yendikenoyendikeno Registered Users Posts: 214 Major grins
    edited September 12, 2010
    I'm no expert,
    but here are a couple of ways I can think of to deal with a situation like this. You could use spot metering to insure the subject is exposed correctly no matter what the back ground. In an extreme case where the difference between the background and subject is way too much, you could use some fill flash to help reduce the exposure extremes. Hope that helps.
    Regards,
    AZFred
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    yendikeno wrote: »
    but here are a couple of ways I can think of to deal with a situation like this. You could use spot metering to insure the subject is exposed correctly no matter what the back ground. In an extreme case where the difference between the background and subject is way too much, you could use some fill flash to help reduce the exposure extremes. Hope that helps.

15524779-Ti.gifagree thumb.gif
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• Options
    Thanks - Spot Metering is something I didn't think to try. Great advise, next time I'll give it a shot - I think I was set to center metering.
  • Options
    DulaMugDulaMug Registered Users Posts: 90 Big grins