Options

Canon dSLR: 7d vs. 1d2 vs.... ahh!

aperture.photoaperture.photo Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited October 16, 2010 in Cameras
Hello all- I've been poring over these forums for several months now, and every time I think I've come to a decision about which body I should get, I read another post and reconsider.

Here's my situation: I am a high school senior with a growing local photo business. I shoot sports for my high school, event portraits (my school's formals, etc.), receptions and parties, and of course landscapes. I've used a 450d since I started (and sometimes borrow friends' 40/50d), and I've gotten some great images but I just need more of everything...

-for sports, better AF, more FPS, and low-light (I shoot night football and basketball, which are a nightmare- 450d is tough at 800ISO and useless at 1600)
-for events, better low-light and AF
-for landscape, more megapixels

Weather sealing and HD video would be nice but arent game-breakers.

That said, here are my options... I'd like to spend under $1500.

1. Used 30/40/50d- a step up in everything, maybe not worth the cost of upgrading. New 60d doesnt seem much better than 50d

2. used 5d classic- better lowlight, but not much better AF or FPS for sports. Also, lose some reach w the full frame, but for events and portraits the IQ would be nice

3. used 1d2/2n- the AF and FPS would be great for sports. Lose MP but thats not big. Not sure how the low-light compares to the XXds above or the 7d below, and how good this would be for landscape/event

4. new 7d- I'm leaning towards this. lots of MP, FPS, and i hear good AF. Low-light and IQ better than the others (except 5d, for events?)

Essentially, would I be lacking for any types of the shooting I'm doing with the 7d? It seems like the jack of all trades.

Thanks so much... any insight is appreciated.

What would you pick? 36 votes

used 30/40/50d
2% 1 vote
used 5d classic
8% 3 votes
used 1d mark 2/2n
8% 3 votes
7d
80% 29 votes