Review of the F Stop Loka Camera Backpack

ZerodogZerodog Registered Users Posts: 1,480 Major grins
edited June 7, 2011 in Accessories
Since I bought my first DSLR, I have been on a relentless quest for a backpack, or a way to carry a camera in a real backpack. What I have found is a huge assortment of basicly the same type of camera bag. The boxy, look at me, I am a photographer backpack. Come steal it NOW!! They do carry camera stuff very well and do have photography features. But would you take it on a dirtbike ride? Would you take it backcountry snowboarding? No way. They suck as a real backpack. All of them. By the time you get to one that has any kind of a load carrying waste belt you have a bag ready for mount Everest. But all you can take is your camera stuff............

So what I found after a lot of searching and trying things the first time around was the Dakine Mission Backpack. It had a unique feature, the removable ICU, "Internal Camera Unit". This is basiclly the camera bag part of any camera pack shoved in a cooler sporty pack. The Mission did not look like a camera bag, and it could carry my snowboard and it did have room for a few other items in the bag. But not much room and it didn't carry the board well at all. And for dirtbiking, I needed to use the ICU itself to carry tools and other gear. Because it took up the entire main compartment of the backpack. In the end this bag has served me well. The things I do not like about it are this: The waste belt doesn't really carry any load, ICU takes up almost all of the bag, Sucks at carrying the snowboard, very hard to carry my ski poles in this bag. Doesn't have a hydration sleeve for a bladder.

Back to the review.