ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,904 moderator
edited December 9, 2005 in Accessories
Greetings,

I've added a sticky "reviews" thread.

What I'd like to do is gather comments and suggestions in this thread and
periodically incorporate them into the reviews. The idea is to keep a separate
discussion going here.

This is my first attempt at this so go easy :D

If you have comments or suggestions, feel free to start a discussion.

Cheers,
Ian
Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?

Comments

• SeamusSeamus Registered Users Posts: 1,573 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2005
    Lens sharpness / IS
    Just to start the ball rolling Ian,

I was out this afternoon and took over 100 photos. All of the photos I took of birds in flight were out of focus and had to be deleted. I didn't have a tripod or monopod with me. I left them at home. I set the aperature speed as high as I could but didn't get a good one.

I am using a Sigma 70-200 f2.8 lens. When a shot was in focus it was sharp. Eg:

16840484-L.jpg

This shot was taken while resting on a fence post.
    This is a long introduction to my question. Would IS have made a difference. If you wish post examples.

I also wondered if sometimes a lens gets a bad reputation as being soft when a contributory factor is bad technique? as in my case where I couldn't handhold the camera properly?

Shay.
  • Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2005
    A lot of things can contribute to a photo with an unsharp look.
    • bayer interpolation: cmos and ccd sensors interpolate the pixels giving a blurry look to unsharpened photos
    • Poor focus point selection: e.g. Using center focus when the subject is off to the side
    • Motion blur: slow shutter speed and active subjects
    • camera shake: slow shutter speed and or large focal length
    • diffraction blurring: small aperture (e.g. f/22)