Options

Upgrade PC or try a Mac for Lightroom?

DeadlockDeadlock Registered Users Posts: 72 Big grins
edited October 22, 2010 in Digital Darkroom
Question:
I'm a pc guy. As a mac virgin, is it worth changing over for lightroom?
And what spec of mac would run lightroom fluidly?

Background:
I've been building my pc's for about 15 years. Its cheaper. I get exactly what I want to perform the task required. I upgrade components as and when I need them. Having just bought lightroom, the system runs too slowly for me now.
The main components are:
core 2 duo E5200 @ 2.5Ghz
4GB ram
1TB WD Caviar Black as OS drive - 600GB kept free & defraged.

The bottleneck under normal use is the cpu.
(Normal use and when I'm frustrated the most is when scrolling through the images to make my selection criteria and performing healing and adjustment brush actions.)
I could simply upgrade the cpu to the following for about £250
- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 (Yorkfield 4c) 3 GHz, DDR3-1333, 12 MB L2

Will this suffice?

Although I could upgrade or build an entirely new rig, for far cheaper than a mac, I'm finding Win 7 64bit to be unreliable.

So what would you do?

Comments

• Options
    MomaZunkMomaZunk Registered Users Posts: 421 Major grins
    edited October 14, 2010
    Don't overthink it and spend $600-$700 and upgrade to a i7-930, Gigabyte X58A-UD3R, 6 GB of DDR3 1333.

That's what I did a couple of months ago after my motherboard for my Core 2 duo started having memory problems.

Things moved so much faster. One thing I was surprised to find was the speed of the file transfers from my card reader. I did not change my hard drive or card reader, but things were definitely moving faster.

I have not had any stability problems with Win 7 64 bit pro since going to the Core i7. I was having issues with the old system (w/ Win7 64bit Pro), but I believe it was all related to the MB memory issues that eventually became apparent.