Options

Recommend 2 lenses for the Canon 60D

HowzitHowzit Registered Users Posts: 117 Major grins
edited October 29, 2010 in Cameras
As a rookie I'm looking at the Canon 60D as my first DSLR. What two lenses would make great coverage for a start?

I'm looking at the EF-S 15-85mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM as the daily lens, rather than the 18-135mm kit but have no idea what to look for in the 70-200mm range.

I am also wondering if I should just go with the kit lens until I have learned the basics.

Thoughts and advice is appreciated.
Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,931 moderator
    edited October 24, 2010
    Howzit wrote: »
    I am also wondering if I should just go with the kit lens until I have learned the basics.

Thanks.

That might be wise if you are just getting started with photography. We could give you better advice if you tell us a little more about your background and also what sorts of shots you hope to take. Baby pics? Sports? Makes a big difference.
  • Options
    chrisjohnsonchrisjohnson Registered Users Posts: 771 Major grins
    edited October 24, 2010
    The 70-200 lenses are targeted at the pros. They have to be able to stand back and take portraits in a situation where an amateur shooting friends and family is probably getting in close and using a 50mm, say.

If you really want a telephoto you might be better with a lens with a longer reach. Canon have a budget 55-250 and a more expensive and better 70-300. These lenses cost much less than the 70-200 family, and are much lighter to take on a hike in the park.

Most people take most of their photos on a crop camera around the 30-50 mm mark. This is where I would be maximizing my investment unless you have special requirements and expect to take a majority of macro or telephoto subjects. A sweet lens for the 60D is the f2.8 17-55, pricy but still less expensive than a 70-200 I think.