Options

Is it just me, or does Canon have the stronger prosumer/advanced lens lineup?

AaronJAndersonAaronJAnderson Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
edited October 31, 2010 in Cameras
I’ve been shooting on the following gear for about 2 years. With commentary.

Nikon D60 (It’s OK. I’ve taken some fantastic shots. High ISO is BAD. Need better low light sensitivity. Frame is very small for my hand/style)
Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 (99 percent of shooting happens here. LOVE this lens.)
Nikkor 18-55mm Kit lens (yuck)
Nikkor 55-200mm lens (yuck)
Nikon SB400 flash (Gets the job done)

About a year ago I decided I want some better gear. My shots are improving and this is something I want to take more seriously. I’ve always pictured myself getting a better Nikon body (D90 or better) and keeping the D60 for backup, or taking out with friends at night, etc.

I didn’t always have the 35mm 1.8 lens. This was a game changer for me. Suddenly the 18-55 and 55-200 went into a box and stayed there. They lack… sharpness or crispness or something. The photos from them seemed a little grey, blurry, or have some CA in them…. Something. The 35mm fixed 99 percent of that and I’m in love with it.

I’m in a place where I need some versatility. I’m starting to do paid gigs. I really need a good lens in the 16-55 (approx.) range and want more in the future. 200mm and a wide-angle zoom would be great to have in my bag too.

So I’ve been patiently waiting for the new D7000 body to be available. A dream come true.

I’m having trouble shopping for lenses. I’ve always felt like Canon had a better range of lenses that would be considered pro-quality in the 800-1500 dollar range. I feel like Nikon has a bunch of f3.5-5.6 consumer stuff in the 4-500 dollar range, and then a bunch of pro stuff in the greater-than-$1500 range. I really want lenses that go to f2.8 or f4.