Options

Yearbook photos

gluwatergluwater Registered Users Posts: 3,599 Major grins
edited August 17, 2005 in Mind Your Own Business
Has anyone ever shot for a yearbook? I have been asked to do this and I'm not sure what to expect. I am still pretty new to photography but I think this would be a great learning experience. It is a small elementary school, less than 150 kids (don't have exact size). Nothing has really been discussed yet but I wanted to see if anyone else had experience with this. At this point it looks like it would just be portraits of the kids.

Am I getting in over my head?
What equipment would I need?
How long would it take (estimate I know i haven't supplied much info yet)
What woud I charge?

Any info would be very appreciated.

Nick
Nick
SmugMug Technical Account Manager
Travel = good. Woo, shooting!
nickwphoto

Comments

• Options
    Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
    edited August 17, 2005
    I've never done this, so I am only giving an example of my experience - you really need to get a lot more info from the school as to their expectations.

At my kids schools the portraits are done every fall by a company like Jostens. The year book pages are then layed out by volunteers, using the portraits and a bunch of candids contributed by teachers, moms etc. the pasted up pages are then sent off to Jostens and the yearbook produced.

If in fact they are asking you to do the portraits, you need to be sure you have the right equipment to do so - a reliable camera, lights and backdrop and the know how of how to use it. I can take an individual sports photo (portrait) in about 45 seconds, if the kids are well instructed ahead of time re: posing. So for 150 kids I'd say you would have a busy, noisy mornings work.

I hope this is helpful, even if it is conjecture.

ann
  • Options
    edited August 17, 2005