Options

Discussion on blown highlights

HiggmeisterHiggmeister Registered Users Posts: 909 Major grins
edited August 17, 2005 in Technique
I'm bringing this up because there seem to be lots of opinions on this subject. I figure techniques is the right location, but feel free to move it to wherever it needs to be.

First, I'm no expert here so this is for the discussion as to why and why not of blown highlights. Also, if you can explain as the why and why not would be helpful to others.

I used to avoid the dreaded 255,255,255 like the plague. Looking at a histogram, I would adjust the levels so there were no spikes at the end. Sounds good, but after doing a little reading, I had an epiphany.

My definition of blown highlights are areas where the detail has been completely washed out. It doesn't even have to be 255 for RGB, but a lack of detail up towards the light side. Well, what about specular highlights. Do these ever have detail...no they shouldn't. These areas should be white or nearly white because there isn't any detail to be seen in them.

Highkey shots and high contrast shots are good examples where there is going to be lots of white or nearly white areas. Are these considered blown highlights...no.

How about a portrait where the light reflecting off the hair washes out some of the details. Here, it could be considered blow highlights because there usually should be detail throughout the hair (generalization for example). I've shot seagulls where the detail is lost in the feathers and it didn't look nearly as good as the shots where I could make out the detail.

Do blown highlights ruin a shot...that depends. Highlights and shadows are all part of the composition so do the blown highlights detract greatly from the shot? This is going to be subjecting depending on the individual.