Options

Bay Photo Giclee Canvas Stretched Price Inconsistency

haynesmahaynesma Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited January 11, 2011 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
Hi,

I am new to smugmug and bay photo, so I hope my question is just my confusion.

I am interested in giclee canvas gallery wrap. Bay Photo offers two types of canvas prints, one is Giclee and is printed directly onto the canvas. This is the more expensive option.

The other way is to print the photo on photo paper and then mount (with heat and pressure) the print to the canvas.

Both of these descriptions are from the Bay Photo catalog.

Looking at the canvas SmugMug offers from Bay Photo, it says it is directly printed on canvas also, meaning it is the same as the more expensive option.

But comparing prices, this does not make sense.

16x20 Giclee Gallery wrap Stretched is $86.00 (Bay Photo) and $59.99 (Smugmug)
16x20 Print mounted on Canvas Stretched is $54.50(Bay Photos) and not available on SmugMug

Also note that these prices are out of the Bay Photo Economy (no color correction) ROES software and catalog.

What am I missing here? Could the product being offered by SmugMug be the lower end print on photo paper mounted on canvas? If so, the SmugMug description is wrong.

I have a similar pricing problem with plain ole glossy prints:
Bay Photo (no color correction) 16x20 glossy print = 13.5
SmugMug 16x20 glossy print = 17.99

or

Bay Photo (no color correction) 20x24 glossy print = 19.99
SmugMug 20x24 glossy print = 22.99

I verified the Bay Photo prices in both the ROES software and their on-line catalog.

Please point me in the right direction so I can get my pricing straightened out.

Thank you very much

Mark
mark@haynesphoto.com

What

Comments

• Options
    HinsonHinson Registered Users Posts: 219 Major grins
    edited November 14, 2010