Options

20+ people outdoor portrait help

nicnellynicnelly Registered Users Posts: 34 Big grins
edited November 30, 2010 in Technique
I am still quite new to this and although I have gotten pretty comfortable with single person portraits with natural light I need lots of help to get to the next level. I have been asked to do a family session for a group of 20-25 people. I am willing to rent/buy the equipment I need to do this correctly. I will buy if I can afford it and I think it will work well in the future (planning to continue with children/seniors....maybe some day weddings?) but rent if it isn't a priority for these situations.

I shoot with a Canon 50D and I have a 50mm 1.4 and an old kit lens (18-55mm) from my previous camera. I know I need to invest in more lenses and lighting but I'm not sure what should come first.

Besides equipment I would love suggestions on settings, composition and any other tips you have photographing large groups. In reading prior posts it sounds like getting above the group (step ladder??) makes the most sense. Thank you in advance!

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited November 24, 2010
    i would try to find a park with an incline in the grassy area....nice skyline for backdrop....if the ground is dry get family groups
    and have them sit on the ground spaces between .... myabe a few standing in the back area........make it a fun shot...shoot off an
    8' step ladder and have fun with it.......or see if you can gain access to a theater just a little to opening to the public or use a
    college theater with inclined seating and have some people with shoes on the seat backs and such....then clean the seats before leaving.....
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• Options
    edited November 24, 2010
    Art Scott wrote: »