Options

IMAC vs Mac Book Pro

Karenl39Karenl39 Registered Users Posts: 155 Major grins
edited January 2, 2011 in Digital Darkroom
I am a photographer and have been using a Dell that I hate to edit my pictures. I have been completely unable to calibrate the monitor to match my labs with this computer. Its an all in one and has a glossy screen. I have also been using a calibration tool for years to try to get the computer to match the lab, but it fails.

I am going to buy either an Imac or Mac Book Pro.

I am wondering what your thoughts are?

I have an old Dell laptop notebook that I use to project the images on a screen for my customers to view so I am not sure that I need a laptop.

Thanks for your input,

Karen

Comments

• Options
    mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited October 26, 2010
    First of all are you sure you are calibrating correctly? You don't calibrate to match a lab, and are you certain the lab isn't auto-correcting out from under you?

Secondly whether you want an iMac or a Mac Book Pro depends more on if you need the portability than anything. The iMac will be faster, for less money, and have a larger screen.
    Bill Jurasz - Mercury Photography - Cedar Park, TX
    A former sports shooter
    Follow me at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bjurasz/
    My Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/mercphoto?ref=hdr_shop_menu
  • Options
    Karenl39Karenl39 Registered Users Posts: 155 Major grins
    edited October 26, 2010
    mercphoto wrote: »
    First of all are you sure you are calibrating correctly? You don't calibrate to match a lab, and are you certain the lab isn't auto-correcting out from under you?

Secondly whether you want an iMac or a Mac Book Pro depends more on if you need the portability than anything. The iMac will be faster, for less money, and have a larger screen.