Options

Why does nobody make a digital K1000?

jdorseydesignjdorseydesign Registered Users Posts: 161 Major grins
edited January 13, 2011 in Cameras
There's a certain class of all manual film SLR cameras that were and are used in photography courses by students because they are manual only cameras. I have a Promaster 2500PK (Nikon FM body with a Pentax K mount). I love that I have to control aperture, shutter and ISO via dials on the camera. There's no AUTO mode, there's no AUTO focus, just a nice big focusing screen. The camera is also TINY compared to my relatively small Nikon D40x. And it has a nice 50mm f/1.9 lens. The Pentax K1000 seems to be the favorite of this style of film camera. Nikon even still sells the FM10, which is a brand new style of film SLR like this.

My question is, why doesn't someone make a digital SLR like this? Imagine a DSLR with ONLY manual controls, I would buy this in a heartbeat.

Also, I would love to have a DSLR that was as small as one of these manual only cameras.

Would it be possible to "hack in" a digital sensor into one of the old K1000 bodies?
J Dorsey Design Photography • jdorseydesign.com • Facebook Fan/Friend • Twitter @bartdorsey

Comments

• Options
    ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,919 moderator
    edited January 13, 2011
    Most DSLRs have a manual mode. I shoot in it all the time. Not sure what you'd gain by producing a manual-only digital camera--especially given the value of some Auto modes (like Av/Tv).
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • Options
    colourboxcolourbox Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited January 13, 2011
    I've only owned a few SLR bodies and the K1000 was my first, and the one I used the longest.

As far as I'm concerned, I have that every time I put my Canon digital SLR dial on "M" and switch the lens focus to "Manual".