Options

Purchases of Photos

Karenl39Karenl39 Registered Users Posts: 155 Major grins
edited September 1, 2005 in SmugMug Support
Hi,

I am brand new to this. So far I really like Smugmug. I have a standard account, not a pro account. I am wondering if there is any way to know if anybody purchases one of your photos.

I am also wondering if people search for photos or images on google if they'll be directed to our site.

Thank you,

Karen

www.karenlynch.smugmug.com

Comments

• Options
    marlinspikemarlinspike Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited August 31, 2005
    There is no way to know if somebody bought your photos without a pro account, and even then you don't find out unless you charge more than the standard price.
  • Options
    Karenl39Karenl39 Registered Users Posts: 155 Major grins
    edited August 31, 2005
    There is no way to know if somebody bought your photos without a pro account, and even then you don't find out unless you charge more than the standard price.
    Do you have a pro account? Is it worth having one?

Karen
  • Options
    marlinspikemarlinspike Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited August 31, 2005
    I do have a pro account. I like having it, but in my experience, unless you have a specific audience to market your photos to, don't plan on making sales, i.e. I haven't sold a single photo except for my sports photos, and I only sell sports photos to players, their parents, and their boyfriend/girlfriend (ok, well technically that's because I only give the passwords to players and their parents...and I guess somebody tells the girlfriend, but even if I didn't password protect them, I doubt anybody else would buy them). I think smugmug is the most complete solution for a photographer looking to sell photos though. The fact that they handle everything is nice.
  • Options
    Matthew SavilleMatthew Saville Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,352 Major grins
    edited September 1, 2005