Options

First Attempt at BIF--Great Egrets at Bird City, Avery Island

PGMPGM Registered Users Posts: 2,007 Major grins
edited March 23, 2011 in Wildlife
This is my first attempt to shoot birds in flight--the Great Egrets at Bird City, the rookery in Jungle Gardens on Avery Island, Louisiana. Canon 7D, 400mm f/5.6, 1/2500. I have been trying to get the exposure right on these white birds so that they don't show up as too, too white and lacking detail. Seems I was more successful in some shots than others. All comments and suggestions for improvement especially appreciated. :dunno Best, Pam

1. Bringing a twig for the nest

1219996427_Gduq4-L-1.jpg

2. Another twig

1221580880_5a7dA-L.jpg

3. Honey, I'm home!

1221559286_z4gxW-L.jpg

4. Staying under the radar

1221561193_zonqX-L.jpg

5. Urban Fly by

1220897802_xumEx-L.jpg

1221567782_DUBPt-L.jpg

7. Flying low with another twig

1221546899_hS4oU-L.jpg

8. Two platforms at Bird City in Jungle Gardens, Avery Island, Louisiana
1221591924_d4BCU-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    peargrinpeargrin Registered Users Posts: 191 Major grins
    edited March 20, 2011
    Wow! This is your first attempt at BIF, and you have so many so many sharp, lovely results? You're a natural! Brava! I especially love #3...really gorgeous! Cheers, pear

http://peargrin.smugmug.com
  • Options
    DsrtVWDsrtVW Registered Users Posts: 1,991 Major grins
    edited March 20, 2011
    Way to go Pam nice work, Lots of Egrets there
    Chris K. NANPA Member
    http://kadvantage.smugmug.com/
  • Options
    NorthernFocusNorthernFocus Registered Users Posts: 1,347 Major grins
    edited March 20, 2011
    All nice. Number 3 and 6 are outstanding. Nicely done.thumb.gif
    Dan

My Photo Gallery:Northern Focus Photography
    I wish I was half the man that my dog thinks I am...
  • Options
    ashruggedashrugged Registered Users Posts: 345 Major grins
    edited March 20, 2011