Options

Inexpensive portable light system

rickprickp Registered Users Posts: 346 Major grins
edited March 24, 2011 in Accessories
What's a good inexpensive portable light system for portraits? I'm looking for something that I can use on location. I guess battery operated is the way to go.
At this point I'm just getting started so I can't go dumping a bunch of cash into this. As I grow I'll update the system, but right now I need something that I can produce a good product and wont break the bank.

I would like to use my flash off the camera as one of the lights too if acceptable.

Thanks
R.
Canon 5DMk II | 70-200mm f2.8 IS USM | 24-105mm f4.0 IS USM | 85mm f1.8 prime.

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,849 moderator
    edited March 18, 2011
    I appreciate the qualities of Sigma EF-530 DG Super flashes in that they handle Canon E-TTL II wireless very well and they can work as both master and slave in a wireless configuration. They will also work in manual mode and have a built-in simple optical slave capability.

For maximum portability I prefer 3 - wireless flashes, either using the Canon wireless protocol or via simple RF master/slave trigger sets. (I take the RF sets regardless of whether I "think" I will need them or not.)

I use 10 foot, air-cushioned, light stands and umbrella brackets. I use combinations of convertible reflective/shoot-through umbrellas, SoftLighter, DIY scoop modifiers and a Demb Flip-It. All of this breaks down to be portable and relatively light in weight.

This works pretty well with individuals, from head shots through full length, and group shots of up to around 6 or so. Different rooms might allow even more people. It just depends upon the room properties.

For large venues nothing beats studio monolights however.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    edited March 18, 2011
    Thanks ziggy,