What order?

Tom VervaekeTom Vervaeke Registered Users Posts: 57 Big grins
edited January 23, 2004 in Finishing School
I need expert help here: I use Photoshop Element 2.0 and have a process question.

My source material is either 3.2MP, 4.0MP or 6MP from my digital SLR. If I'm using the D100 I sometimes shoot in RAW (NEF) and sometimes (well, mostly) in Large, Fine JPEG's. I process the RAW images into TIFF's with Capture One LE SW. Love it.

Once I get the image into PS I often manipulate it and then print. Prior to printing I often make the image larger or small in preparation for printing. I can print as big as 13x19" (Canon 9100) or as small as 4x6".

Question:

1. Is is best to alter the SIZE of the image prior to sharpening and other adjustments or after?

2. Does it make any difference at all?

I'm just learning about layers and all of that so for the most part i'm just telling PS Element to do the "Quick Fix" and then adjust the colors, sharpness, and brightness.

My wife is very creative and purchases decent frames locally and ready made matts. She tells me what size actual photo to print (4x6, 5x7, 8x10, 11x14, etc..) and I print them out. I've actually begun to sell a few photos here and there nowadays.

Would be great to settle my digital workflow out by learning whether I should size first or last.

Thanks,

Tom

Comments

• cletuscletus Registered Users Posts: 1,930 Major grins
    edited January 21, 2004
    Tom,

It's going to depend on how you're altering the size of the image. At least in the full verion of Photoshop (I don't have Elements) you have two basic choices when changing the image size. The first method simply changes the printed size of the image, but leaves the pixels of the image alone. The second method actually changes the number of pixels in the image (for example going from 3000x2000 pixels to 1500x1000 pixels).