Options

New to the Accessories Forum...Accessory reviews

Tim SnowTim Snow Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
edited March 31, 2011 in Accessories
Hello everyone,
I am pretty new to D-Grin (though have been a SmugMug user since 2006!)
I have just written several entries titles Toy Stories which are mini-reviews of the little accessories that have big impact on how I work.
I would love some feedback, the page can be found here: www.newwindworkshops.com
My latest post on Carabiners is here: http://newwindworkshops.com/2011/03/25/toy-stories-carabiners/
I am really trying to make the workshop page a viable resource for photo enthusiasts, any feedback is appreciated!
Cheers,
Tim

Comments

• Options
    NeilLNeilL Registered Users Posts: 4,201 Major grins
    edited March 30, 2011
    Hi Tim, re your comparison 24-70 vs 24-105...

Your only reason for preferring the 24-70 is f2.8. My doubt is whether f2.8 on this lens always gives you the sharpness you need. If you have to stop down from f2.8 to get usable sharpness, then the advantage you talk about diminishes accordingly. My copy of the 24-105 is sharp wide open. I'd say the best lens for the situation you describe would be the 70-200 f2.8L IS. That of those 3 lenses offers the most help to get a sharp result in low light.

Neil
    "Snow. Ice. Slow!" "Half-winter. Half-moon. Half-asleep!"

http://www.behance.net/brosepix
  • Options
    edited March 30, 2011
    Hi Neil,
    Thanks for checking out the site and writing.
    I loved my buddy's 24-105 when I borrowed it, but the deciding factor for me was 100% the extra stop of light the 24-70 gives me.
    When shooting sports, I see a huge difference between 1/250th and 1/500th!
    I will admit that the 24-105 would be much better for backpacking and hiking due to the lower weight, but since I could only afford the one...
    Thanks again!
    Tim
  • Options
    edited March 30, 2011
    Tim Snow wrote: »
    Hi Neil,