3rd Party lenses vs. Nikon/Canons???

wildviperwildviper Registered Users Posts: 560 Major grins
edited May 14, 2011 in Cameras
I realize that reading the subject line, most will go..."oh not another thread!"

Well...I haven't seen this addressed and thus wanted some clarification. Perhaps my thinking is off...so please correct.

I have been watching a lot of videos of "pros" in various settings and have noticed that all of them use the original manufacturer's lenses vs. the Tamrons/Sigmas and such.

I have gone from Sigma to a Nikon 70-300. I have gone from Nikon 18-70 to Tamron 28-75/2.8. I had a Tokina 12-24 to now a Nikon 12-24/4. So, I have some experience in this regard. What I have noticed overtime is that my colors are more accurate with Nikon lenses SOTC then 3rd party. My exposures are more closer to being correct than with the 3rd party lenses. And the flash in TTL works better with Nikon stuff than with 3rd party.

All this can't be a fluke...I have been observing this for over 2 years now. I always excuse the above by saying...I didn't meter right...the light must not have been good...and so on. But now I am begining to doubt that excuse.

Besides sharpness....I think the original manufacturer lenses do offer something more to us in terms of color, exposure, TTL capability. Is that a totally off base deduction????

I know Nikon lenses working with the 1008 matrix or whatever gives color info and distance info to cameras....I doubt the 3rd party lenses do that.

Food for thought...hopefully someone more technically minded provide some needed insight!
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
WildViper
From Nikon D70s > Nikon D300s & D700
Nikon 50/1.8, Tamron 28-75/2.8 1st gen, Nikkor 12-24/4, Nikkor 70-200/2.8 ED VR, SB600, SB900, SB-26 and Gitzo 2 Series Carbon Fiber with Kirk Ballhead

Comments

• Matthew SavilleMatthew Saville Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,352 Major grins
    edited April 24, 2011