Options

Which cameras to get - for an R&D Lab - and "hi"

MaverickH1MaverickH1 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited May 3, 2011 in Cameras
First post to the forum. Greetings, everyone.

I'm a mechanical engineer who dabbles in photography. I have a Samsung TL320, which was a huge upgrade from the camera I had that I bought 10 years ago for $7. I basically purchased the TL320 because it had enough "advanced" features on it to give me an idea if I wanted to take photography to the next step. I just graduated from school in December, got a job in a research and development test lab in Roanoke, VA.

My little TL320 has been used to exhaustion in the lab to document data for use by the company. We test rock drilling equipment here and the data has to be seen by people in China, India, Sweden, all over the world. The pictures I have taken with my TL320 have made the higher-ups realize that the cameras we currently have are not up to snuff, so they've tasked me with finding new cameras since I'm the "expert" in this little facility.

Problem is, I'm not anywhere close to an expert. I understand shutter speed, aperture size, ISO, manual focus, how much off camera lighting can make an image better, using the timer on the camera to guarantee the shutter press doesn't shake the camera during the exposure, etc, etc. I just read a study of Flash Exposure Compensation on this forum and thoroughly enjoyed it. The ability to set the exposure for the background and then adjust the flash to capture the subject is something that I couldn't do with my TL320.

Basically, I feel like we need a few point and shoot cameras that have decent capabilities, and then we need one "do it all" DSLR. None of the guys back here have much camera experience, so I don't want to get 4 "awesome" point and shoot cameras that these guys will never use.