Portraits, formal/informal

ginger_55ginger_55 Registered Users Posts: 8,416 Major grins
edited June 16, 2004 in Holy Macro
I take pictures for our church baptisms, I mention that kind of often. I spend hours on some, very little time on others. I did a special one this weekend.
A man with his child. I have never done one without both parents before. Usually they are dressed to the nines. I didn't notice at the time I took the picture that the man was not wearing a suit. The situation was obviously unusual from the Priest's interest in the photograph to the actions of people around. I was so nervous I forgot to take a picture of the child alone. The church doesn't use those, so it was not important.
I am told where the people are to stand. The Monsignor "allows" me to open the doors to get some natural light in, and to stop the stained glass from throwing a blue cast. The other Priest and Deacon are too concerned about the air conditioning, so the doors stay closed for the most part. I shoot with the kit lens and a dRebel camera. I use the on camera flash. I have a Sunpak, have never used it, don't much like flash. I usually shoot with the setting on portrait, but I was nervous here and I left the setting on the standard green thing, if anyone knows what I mean. I spent all Sunday afternoon and all day Monday working on this portrait. I am finished, and I want to share it with you. Lynn, I did think black and white. I also cleaned up the swollen red eyes, with extreme dark circles. I just want to share. This is the result of a tragedy. I think the mother died in childbirth. I really wanted to make this good for this man, as did the Priest. The Priest must have been nervous, too, he forgot to light the candle.

5165668-L.jpg