Options

The Coupons Business Discussion Thread

Comments

• Options
    jeffportarojeffportaro Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
    edited August 7, 2010
    If told someone i would give them a print credit of lets say 10 8x10's, would i make a coupon for the value of the ten 8x10's. And would this value be based before my markup on the gallery or after my markup on the gallery?
  • Options
    EvantideEvantide Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
    edited August 24, 2010
    Coupon Best Practice Question
    I'm new to smugmug! Loving it!

I'm looking for the best practice for giving our wedding clients their "$250 Print Credit" (we call it a print credit). I have set it up to be a '$250 dollar off' coupon in the managing coupon section. Should I create a separate coupon for each client? Rather than having one coupon with a maximum uses equaling my client number (4 couples = 4 max uses).

Have people ever 'stolen' codes? Like a mother of the bride or anything?? Just curious!!

Thanks for any and all help! I read through most of the thread - but it was pretty thick dating back to 2003 :-)

Meg
  • Options
    pilotdavepilotdave Registered Users Posts: 785 Major grins
    edited August 24, 2010
    Here's why I wish we had more control over coupons:

981782846_fWEBX-M.jpg

Ok, maybe that's not so clear. This is a pricing spreadsheet I've been working on, based on a spreadsheet I downloaded on dgrin.

I input prices and it calculates my profit (or loss) with various discounts... 15-30%. I've always kept my pricing very low, but recently I decided to bump up my prices and then offer a substantial discount coupon to friends. But what I'm discovering is that I need to really significantly raise my prices on the expensive items in order to not risk losing money if someone buys one of them using this coupon. Red on the spreadsheet represents negative profit and yellow represents profit under $1.