Options

Portrait Questions/Help

geoles2geoles2 Registered Users Posts: 27 Big grins
edited May 11, 2011 in Technique
I am new to portrait photography and had a question about a family shoot I have coming up. Not for pay, just as practice, they are friends. I am not ready to start charging yet :wink. It is three different groups plus all them together and kids etc. I am looking for any advice and tips, what lens should I use etc. I know I need more equipment, but that will come in time.

The lenses I have are a 50mm 1.7 manual - 18-55 kit lens - 70 300 sigma lens.

I am thinking I should just use the kit lens? Also doing so do you get as close to the group as you can? Or do you stand back a ways?

I took some last weekend of another family, and they likd them but I dont think I got close enough? I will post some later in the other section.

Thanks very much for any help/tips!!

George

Comments

• Options
    geoles2geoles2 Registered Users Posts: 27 Big grins
    edited May 10, 2011
    No tips at all? cmon guys and gals don't keep all the secrets to yourself.
  • Options
    SvennieSvennie Registered Users Posts: 181 Major grins
    edited May 10, 2011
    Well, is it outside or inside? How much light is there (or do you need flashes)?

Be careful with 18mm from close by: it will distort people. A manual focus might be too slow with kids around. With groups, don't set aperture wide open: not everybody will in focus then.
  • Options
    PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
    edited May 11, 2011
    Go read some books on posing - you need them to stand in a way that isn't weird and that can be tricky with groups of people. I'm going to guess that you don't have a good flash, so try to do the pictures in an evenly lit area watching out for shadows or odd color casts. Shoot in RAW with a grey card (white and black would be good too) so you can set the white balance (as well as black and white points).