Options

Concert Photography Help?

levelsixtysevenlevelsixtyseven Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
edited June 20, 2011 in Technique
So I've gotten the sudden interest to do concert photography. Thing is I'm not sure I have the right equipment. I'm pretty new to the scene so need a bit of guidance. I've been doing photography for awhile and I use a Nikon D90. I need suggestions on equipment and tips and tricks for people willing to share.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Options
    catspawcatspaw Registered Users Posts: 1,292 Major grins
    edited May 30, 2011
    if you don't have a fast lens, you won't get very far. The D90 is great, but the low light ISO isn't as good as the pro bodies (or the newer D7000). If you have the 50 1.8, that's a start. Since you are DX, the 35mm DX lens is another great one -- but only if you can shoot up on the stage with the band. That's going to be the best shots, otherwise you're talking shooting from the back of the bar/room/concert hall which requires the 70-200 2.8 and 2.8 isn't quite fast enough without a high ISO camera.

looking into renting for certain events might be a good idea.
    //Leah
  • Options
    r3t1awr3ydr3t1awr3yd Registered Users Posts: 1,000 Major grins
    edited May 30, 2011
    How close will you be to the stage? What kind of concert? Will you be allowed to use flash/additional lighting? What kind of lighting will they have there?

Hi! I'm Wally: website | blog | facebook | IG | scotchNsniff
    Nikon addict. D610, Tok 11-16, Sig 24-35, Nik 24-70/70-200vr
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited May 30, 2011