Options

First Post - Lake Sunset

ChesterJackChesterJack Registered Users Posts: 61 Big grins
edited July 27, 2011 in Landscapes
Very much the novice here. But do want to get better and would like feedback on this sunset from 4th of July in New Hampshire.

Shot with a Nikon D7000 70-300MM @ 135mm 1/25 f13 ISO640

Thanks for the feedback
"Dont tell me this town ain't got no heart, cause I can hear it beat out loud" Robert Hunter

Comments

• Options
    edited July 14, 2011
    Here is another

75mm ISO 640 1/160 f11
    "Dont tell me this town ain't got no heart, cause I can hear it beat out loud" Robert Hunter
  • Options
    schmooschmoo Registered Users Posts: 8,468 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2011
    Welcome to Dgrin! I like the composition of the first a lot. There's a lot of layers from left to right that give the image a lot of abstract appeal. The second shot doesn't have as much visual interest to me, although it still is a pretty scene. Hope to see more from you!
  • Options
    ThwackThwack Registered Users Posts: 487 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2011
    I had the opposite reaction. I like the second one's color much better than the first. The sky looks over exposed in the first image and seem generally too bright for me to accept it as a sunset. Also, the water in the first shot isn't captured in a way that contributes (a reflection could've been pretty cool but the water looks too choppy).

I'm also curious if the high ISO setting was used to avoid blurring from the wind or if there's a better reason (not intended as a complaint or criticism, just curious about the choice).

It's always good to see new talent stepping forward!

Tim S.
  • Options
    SnowgirlSnowgirl Registered Users Posts: 2,155 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2011
    Welcome! I have to agree with Thwack. I also prefer the second one as a sunset shot.