Options

Photoshop Elements/Lightroom 3/CS5

Sean EalySean Ealy Registered Users Posts: 66 Big grins
edited July 27, 2011 in Finishing School
Hello all. I have been using and experimenting with Photoshop Elements for the past year or so and there seems to be a lot that I can do with post processing. I'm still learning about layers, and am sure that it will take a lot more playing around with to master. But I've noticed that a lot of other photographers use Lightroom 3. Is there an advantage to going to Lightroom or even CS5? For those that use Lightroom, what does it offer that I can't do in Elements?

Comments

• Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,937 moderator
    edited July 25, 2011
    Since Elements includes Adobe's raw processing engine, there's not a lot you can do in terms of processing a single pic using Elements that you can do in LR, and there is a fair amount of stuff that you can do in Elements that you can't do in LR, which does not support layers. However, LR has a much better catalog function to manage your photo archive and some nice features to process many pics as a batch. CS5 does not have a decent catalog, but offers the most comprehensive set of editing tools, much more sophisticated than Elements or LR--and more sophisticated than many non-professional photographers need. It also will do batch processing, but the learning curve is a little steeper than in LR.
  • Options
    edited July 25, 2011
    Thanks for the info Richard. I'm currently working as a part time photographer and would like to be able to offer my clients the best quality in their photos. I'm willing to go up to CS5, but am a little intimidated by the learning curve.
  • Options
    OhiohikerOhiohiker Registered Users Posts: 117 Major grins
    edited July 26, 2011