Options

#82 - Night and Day Flowers

sapphire73sapphire73 Registered Users, Super Moderators Posts: 1,945 moderator
edited August 5, 2011 in The Dgrin Challenges
I haven't tried combining two or more images in Photoshop before and don't know if my idea is within the rules for dgrin challenges or not, so I am looking for input on multiple levels.

1) Do you think the idea is worthy of this challenge?
2) Is a Night and Day collage where the background is white on one half and black on the other within the rules?
3) Any C & C re the individual photos? Suggestions as to how to set them side by side in a way that is visually pleasing?

The high-key images are shot around midnight using a lightbox, something I started playing with in January (after reading about it in Creative Close-Ups by Harold Davis). I shot the darker images around noon with filtered sunlight. So the one that looks like "day" was shot at night and vice versa. The flowers are illuminated with a light box to highlight the transparency of the petals and leaves. The hydrangeas and coneflowers seemed to be the best subjects for the dual approach.

Please feel free to give me your frank opinion of this idea, the subjects, and the execution up to this point. (If you prefer the shots from Midday in Napa, I'd be interested in hearing that as well.) Thanks!

1) Translucent
i-BnzbdJq-L.jpg

2) Hydrangeas Night and Day
i-wTfm3V9-L.jpg

3) Night and Day (with coneflowers)
i-3LkM88L-L.jpg

Any thoughts on these?

Thanks,
Gretchen

Comments

• Options
    edited July 31, 2011
    [Edit: Removed #4 as an option but left the comment.]

My current favorite is 2b with the hydrangeas. This whole idea may be too far out in left field, and I realize that not everyone likes the lightbox effect. If the idea has merit but my photoshop skills aren't up to par for combining images, I'll try to come up with something else.

Cheers,
    Gretchen
  • Options
    Quincy TQuincy T Registered Users Posts: 1,090 Major grins