Options

questions about using LR and photoshop together

lilmommalilmomma Registered Users Posts: 1,060 Major grins
edited August 5, 2011 in Finishing School
i've been using lightroom since I started shooting, and purchased elements 9 about 6 months ago. i figured out how to use the "edit with photoshop" feature but when i'm finished with it can i bring it back to my lightroom catalog? i almost dislike even using photoshop because i have to save each photo individually in a new folder plus resize and save again in the folder so I can upload to facebook. it is very time consuming and i end up disorganized with my folders. theres got to be an easier way, unless im just too spoiled on the easiness of lightroom.

Also, when I select the edit in photoshop it creates a second copy of the photo as a .tiff file..and dang those are large files! i'm constantly having to go back and delete all my tiffs. what is the point of that anyway?

So then if I bypass lightroom and pull in the file from the computer, I have to search for the one I want by file number since I don't have large previews and thats a pain in the rear as well.

i'm considering purchasing cs5 but i'm afraid I won't use it because of these issues. I know theres an easier way to integrate the two, there has to be.

Comments

• Options
    basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited August 5, 2011
    i think you missed the point
    in PS you dont have to save as a different file just save [ if you sent them from LR ]

when just save [ not save as ]
    PS will sent the edited image back to LR as TIFFs , the ones you are deleting all the time
    export them from LR
  • Options
    PeanoPeano Registered Users Posts: 268 Major grins
    edited August 5, 2011
    lilmomma wrote: »
    So then if I bypass lightroom and pull in the file from the computer, I have to search for the one I want by file number since I don't have large previews and thats a pain in the rear as well.