Options

Which Editing Software?

emilybethemilybeth Registered Users Posts: 36 Big grins
edited August 13, 2011 in Finishing School
I'm looking into buying editing software but I have no experience with any. I want something that will be user friendly and be able to do as much as possible with my photos. I've been looking into Lightroom. Any suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    zoomerzoomer Registered Users Posts: 3,688 Major grins
    edited August 3, 2011
    If you do any volume of photos Lightroom is a no brainer. SO easy and fast, more fun.
    If you only do a few here and there, Photoshop Elements. Slower more complicated to use, but does some things you can't do in Lightroom.

My daughter uses a free program called Picnik she just opens it online. It actually is not a bad program.
  • Options
    Brandon HanleyBrandon Hanley Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
    edited August 3, 2011
    if you take a bunch of photos i wouldnt go without lightroom. lightroom is great for organizing, basic edits, keywording, and publishing to flickr and smugmug. get the kelby lightroom 3 for digital photographers book too. lr has a ton of features i never knew about before reading the book even though i used lr2 for a year or so before upgrading and buying the book. when you cant do what you need too in lightroom after reading the book then its time to add photoshop to the arsenal. once you have both its simplt to use lr3 for your main stuff like you started doing then as you get to a file that you need photoshop for you push the shortcut and it sends that file right to photoshop for you to finish.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,878 moderator
    edited August 3, 2011
    I moved this to the Finishing School forum, where you'll find other, similar software discussions.