Options

Looking for comments and suggestions

jtutp4jtutp4 Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
edited August 23, 2011 in Sports
Last year I started shooting pics of my children's high school's sports teams. Some I had never shot before, the rest never from the sidelines. What I need is some comments/suggestions for some pictures I will post, plus suggestions on the best way (where I should place myself, etc.) to shoot some of the sports I am less familiar with. Those would be cross country, volleyball, softball, and golf. I use a Nikon D300s with either a Nikkor 35-70 f2.8 or a Nikkor 18-200 f3.5-5.6. I am hoping to very shortly add a Nikkor 70-200 f2.8. Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
    edited August 22, 2011
    I see one image - a soccer image. The posted image does not appear to have anything in good focus. Now, that could be the resizing you performed for posting. Or not. My GUESS is that since you only have a 200mm lens the image is rather heavily cropped. That's a problem. You can't heavily crop sports images and expect sharp results. The key is to shoot action that is within range of your lens. A good rule of thumb is - you want your subject filling about 2/3 of the vertical frame IN CAMERA. If they're smaller than that in the frame they're not close enough. A 200mm lens is useful for about 25 yards of coverage, give or take. For soccer, that isn't much. Now, the action in the above shot is very nice - but the image quality isn't. So, how much did you crop the above photo?
  • Options
    VitaminVVitaminV Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins
    edited August 22, 2011
    Welcome
    Welcome aboard, and good for you for seeking comment.