Options

Lightroom 3 with 2 iMacs - Catalog Question

WayoneWayone Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited September 14, 2011 in Digital Darkroom
Hi,

I'm going to try to make this as clear as posslbe.... please help!

I'm a professional photographer using Lightroom 3. I have two iMacs one is an i5, the other an i7, both running OSX Lion. I have a NAS (Synology DS410j) to store my images and I then link the catalog to the images on the NAS.

Camera Raw Cache is on an external USB and works great. I've even experimented with putting the catalog on the external USB and no speed issues.

Now that I have two iMacs I'd like to find a HDD or an enclosure that I can use to place catalogs on while working on them. I know VERY well that you can't use network storage to place the LR3 Catalog because Adobe won't allow it (various reasons I already know).

Question - Does anyone know of an External Hard Drive or an Enclosure with two Firewire 800 ports that does not act like a network attached device? I need it to act like a hard wire attached hard drive so I can put multiple LR3 Catalogs on it and access them from the i5 or the i7.

Note:
I do not plan to have two people work on the same catalog at the same time.
Users would only open a catalog (on the attached device) that is NOT currently being utilized.
I would however, have two computers accessing the device at the same time via Firewire 800.

Bottom Line:
want to work on one wedding per catalog then import them into a Master Catalog when completed (I have my reasons). Because I have all of my images on a RAID NAS that catalog is easily opened by any computer on the network and the files can be easliy linked.
If I'm editing a wedding and then want to pause with that one and open another catalog someone else was just working on and then closed the catalog I don't want to copy/paste the catalog from the other iMac or move an external hard drive...