Options

selling posters/design prints

BennettphotogBennettphotog Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
I am a youth sports photographer and I want to sell special design prints, such as magazine covers, posters, and other things like that. I was just wondering if anyone could provide any input on a way to sell these to my customers?

What I've decided to do for now is just have my customers call or email me with the design and photo(s) the would like on a design. Once I finish the product I will let them know and then place their design in their team's album for purchase. My only worry about that is that some people might decide at the last minute not to purchase it, but I would've already created it and wasted time on their product. So I am looking for a way to maybe get the money upfront somehow? So if anybody has any suggestions of a way to do this please let me know!!

Thanks,
Sam

Comments

• Options
    woodsphotowoodsphoto Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
    edited September 13, 2011
    You probably won't find this suggestion acceptable, but I'll toss it out anyway.

[I've sold quite a few posters like you describe, but never through SmugMug. I usually get a cash deposit upfront. (Nothing worse than spending a few hours designing a poster then have the customer change their mind.) Obviously, you can't take a deposit through SmugMug and receving a cash deposit from a client defeats the functionality of clients being able to pay with credit card from the privacy of their own home at any time they like.]