Options

Expensive multi coating filter worth an investment?

kphotokphoto Registered Users Posts: 127 Major grins
edited November 23, 2011 in Weddings
Hi, I didn't know who to ask, so decided to post here. I hope I could get someone's opinion on this.

I am a wedding photographer. I was about to buy one of the L series lenses (Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L USM.) I normally have some kind of filter to protect the glass and I don't spend much money on it.

Then, I read about this "Clear-Haze-Multi-Resistant-Coating" filter and it is $70. Of course I would like to have a high quality image, but do you think it's worth the investment? There are a lot of other filters which are less expensive than this.

http://www.amazon.com/77mm-Clear-Haze-Multi-Resistant-Coating/dp/B0000BZLBQ/ref=pd_bxgy_p_img_b

Comments

• Options
    OverfocusedOverfocused Registered Users Posts: 1,068 Major grins
    edited November 20, 2011
    They're less expensive for a reason... for lax in manufacturing quality/standards, they almost always degrade image quality in some way, to some degree. Generally the cheaper they are the more you can potentially pay in color accuracy, sharpness, contrast, even plane of focus, glare, etc. depending on how poorly or how well that particular copy has been made. In cheap filter land it's all kind of random since you don't know what brands may do what to your image. Some cheapies can work quite well and degrade an image just slightly, but it's a gamble whether you get a copy that's all even and nice or not.