Options

LR3 vs. CS5

TheCheeseheadTheCheesehead Registered Users Posts: 249 Major grins
edited December 5, 2011 in Digital Darkroom
Hi, as a student, I have the opportunity to purchase CS5 Extended. I have used LR3 and like that as well. My question: can CS5 do everything LR3 can? I know LR3 is supposedly faster RAW processing, but can CS5 do all of the functions that LR3 does equally or better? My LR3 disk broke, and I have a new computer, so I need to get another LR3, or for about the same price, buy CS5.
Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited November 29, 2011
    Well, if you licensed LR3 legally, then you can just reinstall it and use your serial number. A broken disk wouldn't matter.

And the answer is mixed. No, CS5 can't make virtual changes to your files like LR can and it's not a database to manage your images. But yes, the end result that you can achieve with LR is achievable in CS5, it just works a bit differently.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • Options
    NeilLNeilL Registered Users Posts: 4,201 Major grins
    edited November 30, 2011
    Lr can do nowhere near as much as CS5. Question is would you ever use all CS5's potential? Most people only scrape the surface. Lr can do that much and a little more, and do it in many cases with a more user friendly interface and with less risk to the image. If you never got close to the limits of Lr it's unlikely you will miss CS5.

Neil
    "Snow. Ice. Slow!" "Half-winter. Half-moon. Half-asleep!"

http://www.behance.net/brosepix
  • Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,937 moderator
    edited November 30, 2011
    DavidTO wrote: »
    And the answer is mixed. No, CS5 can't make virtual changes to your files like LR can and it's not a database to manage your images. But yes, the end result that you can achieve with LR is achievable in CS5, it just works a bit differently.