Options

Prime lenses

DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
edited December 8, 2011 in Street and Documentary
I went to downtown LA yesterday with my wife to get some Dim Sum and see the Weegee exhibit at MOCA LA.

First off, if you're in the area, go see it. Weegee is street photography in the US, no?

Secondly, I took only my 50mm 1.4 lens. I'm NOT used to shooting at 50mm. I like to shoot wide or long, I guess. And I'm primarily a landscape photographer. I'm just WAY out of practice shooting at 50mm. I would put the camera up to my eye, and think, "Whoa. What the heck do I do with this?" Not wide enough or long enough to get what I wanted.

I did this on purpose. I know that I'm not good at seeing things in the middle, and I wanted to force myself to do so. But it was really hard. The primary reason for the trip was not street photography, but I did try to shoot some along the way. It's hard to shoot good street (but you guys know that).

So, my question is, what are your feelings about going out with a prime vs. zoom lens to shoot street? I'm really intrigued by limiting my field of view and finding ways to work within it. I just wish I could afford the 35L lens.

And, since this thread would be useless without pics, here you go. (Although I wouldn't post these on their own, most likely).

1616130041_dNKHjSZ-XL.jpg

20111206-kjdn7q2rjxudidhhc9bym7bu6f.png

1616129158_x5W48v2-XL.jpg
Moderator Emeritus
Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops

Comments

• Options
    bfjrbfjr Registered Users Posts: 10,980 Major grins
    edited December 4, 2011
    Your best served by a prime in the 28 to 50 mm range. Not so much for the FL but for the faster F stop.

The 50mm you have now is fine, and the two shots shows promise :D

You will get varied opinions that could fill a book here, but for me -
    Zooms just not fast enough F stop wise and big long glass is just to creepy for this kind of work.