Options

Beginner Question-Shooting Photos of Christmas Lights

deevedeeve Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited December 8, 2011 in Technique
Hello, last night was a nice clear cold night here and I decided to try and take some photos of our outside Christmas lights. It is not spectacular, but I wanted to do it more as a try to see how it turns out. I wanted the photos to show the lights nice and sharp but it seems I get "blossoms"(correct word?) around them and it just isn't very impressive. I also took a photo of the indoor tree and it looks drab with not very vibrant colors. I tried different settings from Shutter Mode, Aperture Mode and Program Mode. I am kind of embarrassed to post these, but they are the "best" two I had out of about 70 shots taken. . I have a Nikon D40X with a Nikon 18-70 lens and used a tripod. The photo quality was set to "normal" in the camera.

I am very new at photo taking and trying to work through things. Any suggestions on where to start?

Thank you!
DAVE

i-mb2VBLF-M.jpg
Click for Original Size

i-FLFPJWL-M.jpg
Click For Original

Comments

• Options
    angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited December 8, 2011
    First things first.

Try this for the outside shot.

Set up your camera and tripod.

Adjust your ISO back down to 320.

Put your camera in M mode.

Adjust your focus to the point to those three green trees that are lit, with aperture set to f/8 or maybe f/11

Look thru your viewfinder. The meter will tell you to adjust Shutter speed left or right depending. Adjust your meter to the center.

Take your photo and look/Chimp. And readjust. Too dark, give it less shutter speed, etc. You may find using a timer works best because you may be in the 1 or 2 second range.

Shoot RAW and Shoot your greatest Photo size.