Options

Can someone help

2mo2mo Registered Users Posts: 71 Big grins
edited December 26, 2011 in Technique
Wife saw this pic on web and I have tried several things to achieve this look but by exposure is crap on subject - then lights - then table that the lights are on. I know im a newbie and should practice practice practice but if I dont get our adopted grand baby in a photo similar, my wife may chop me up in little pieces

Mod edit: "Please" do not post images without proper links or (preferably) attributions. This image is apparently copyright Amy Tripple Photography and seems to come from this page:

http://www.amytripplephotography.com/blog/2011/11/november-already-chicago-baby-photographer/

Thanks,

ziggy53
J. Tuminello
Tuminello Photography

Comments

• Options
    angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited November 24, 2011
    Please post one of your photos or give a link. With EXIF data would help!
    tom wise
  • Options
    jheftijhefti Registered Users Posts: 734 Major grins
    edited November 25, 2011
    2mo, since we can't see your shots of a similarly lighted subject, it's hard to know how to advise. However, if you are shooting in auto exposure mode (which most newbies do) I can take a good guess as to what you're getting: over-exposed lights and underexposed baby. If this is the case, here are some suggestions:

1. Put the camera in manual mode: That means you'll need to set the aperture, ISO, and shutter speed all on your own. Don't worry though, you'll get some practice before taking on the baby! We do this to keep the exposure from jumping around due to the very high contrasts of this kind of lighting.

2. Enable the 'highlight alert' function on your camera's LCD display (assuming you have this feature). This will cause over-exposed areas of the shot to be highlighted somehow on your LCD. Mine blinks black and white. Also set your camera to display the histogram, as you'll need this information.