Options

stealing my photos please help

rogerchesterrogerchester Registered Users Posts: 90 Big grins
edited January 3, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
I am new in the photography business and need advice on a problem i am having. Some of my customers are stealing my photo proofs before they buy them. I water mark my proofs and keep them to the smallest size as possible. I get on facebook and the photos are posted before they even buy them. (I Love working for free). What is the best way to show my customers their photos without giving them access to them. I like to post them on my web site but I need to sell them first. How do you sell your proofs if they are not on the website for customers to view them? Any help with this matter would be appreciated very much.

Thank You
Roger Prescott
canon 40D EF70- 200mm 1:2.8 l is usm EF28-135mm F3.5-5.6 IS USM

Comments

• Options
    denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,247 moderator
    edited December 26, 2011
    This isn't an answer to your question, but...

I just looked at your web site, and every gallery that I looked at had the Originals available. If the original is available there is really no need to purchase photos.

Yes, I know, you have right click protection on. That is easily circumvented. See ORIGINALS = a gateway to free photos, & right click protection is NOT PROTECTION.

--- Denise
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited December 27, 2011
    Allow no image larger than Large for viewing.
    Denise is correct, right cliking protection is not really protection, once viewed it can be printed or used in most any way.
    a necessary evil if you are serious about using your website for making money is watermarking...and with CS 5 available that only slows down the real people dead set on stealing your images.