Options

Artistic Style

Troy RaymondTroy Raymond Registered Users Posts: 171 Major grins
edited January 12, 2012 in People
Hello everyone, I will admit I don't post here often, I've only recently gained interest in photographing people after developing my own technique. I've been an artist since a child and have always favored the look of a painting (but real). Over the past few years I've been playing with several different programs and finally nailed a look I'm happy with. I am interested in your thoughts, comments, and suggestions for self improvement. Here are a couple samples.

This is the full color candid from over the weekend

1255845381_Ssnp8rL-L.jpg

The same photo blended with a sepia tone to get an older look

1257502930_hJMJBVL-L.jpg

and a black and white of my children.

1259578034_s4Jr9Mb-L.jpg

I've got a few more subjects lined up, so hopefully I can share more soon.

Thanks,

Troy

Comments

• Options
    QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited April 22, 2011
    perfect exposure, great light, great processing, and nice poses and expressions. what not to like!?
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com
  • Options
    edited April 23, 2011
    Thank You Qarik! Anyone else? good or bad? thoughts on the slight painted look?
  • Options
    Bryce WilsonBryce Wilson Registered Users Posts: 1,586 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2011
    I really like all three exposures. Very rich looking.

I may be missing something regarding the "painted" look though. Was that treatment applied to all three images?
  • Options
    edited April 23, 2011
    Yes, the 'treatment' is mainly noticeable in the hair smoothing, I had to remove the treatment from the dress because it messed up the pattern. There are about 6-8 differently composed images (cross processed between 3 programs) layer blended in photoshop. A process that can be done rather quickly now.